New to Fire Emblem, and not clear on some things...

#1Big D2Posted 6/19/2013 8:26:36 PM
This is the first Fire Emblem game I've ever played, and I'm constantly losing units, because I'm still not clear on how healing works in this game.

I know pairing up is a must, but when I pair up with someone who has healing powers, I can't seem to use those powers without making the healer the lead in the pair, which often leads to a 1-hit kill from the enemy. Also, I know there's an item some characters have (It starts with a V, and I can never remember its full name), but i can't seem to find or buy enough of them.

I know I'm doing something wrong here, but I can't figure it out because I'm still a novice to this series. How do you keep yourself from losing units so frequently?
#2empireoffirePosted 6/19/2013 8:30:01 PM
Press X. See those dark red areas? That signifies the enemy's attack ranges.

You see your healer? Get them away from those areas.
---
size does not matter....weight does.
other aliases: gamefreak043, Cyborg-Kangaroo, Joe The Smurf
#3Big D2(Topic Creator)Posted 6/19/2013 8:33:59 PM
OK. Though, how am I supposed to heal my comrades if I can't get close enough to them? If I get out of the range of the attackers, then won't that leave my tanks without support?
#4GoldenPower89Posted 6/19/2013 8:38:17 PM(edited)
Press X to see the enemy's attack range a.k.a. "danger zone". Keep healers out of the danger zone at all times. If you must heal someone and you're worried your healer will get hit if he/she moves in to heal, move the injured unit back a few spaces so your healer doesn't have to take a hit.
Also, the "v" item is called vulnerary. You can buy it pretty early. There are more powerful versions of vulnerary to look out for, concoction and elixir.
---
"Owain! You must allow me to open that miraculous head of yours! FOR SCIENCE!" - Laurent
#5Haseo254Posted 6/19/2013 8:38:15 PM