First Fire Emblem game.. Am I playing it right?

#1GoonerByronPosted 7/2/2013 5:41:44 AM
Hey..

I'm completely new to the Fire Emblem series and this is my first game... I'm really enjoying it so far but am starting to get worried that I'm going to find out I'm playing it wrong eventually..

So far I'm about 18 hours in, up to around the main chapter 14. I've been taking my time, levelling everybody, doing all the sidequests that pop up etc. The only problem I think I might have is I haven't really put any/much thought into who to pair with who, have mostly just been doing optimized equipment and haven't looked at the skills pretty much at all. When the characters have become maxed I just use a Master Seal and choose whatever class I think looks good/haven't got one of yet.

So as an example, a few of my pairings are my male char/Miriel, Donnel/Panne, Lissa/Stahl, Sully/Fredrik, Lon'qu/Olivia, Tharja/Ricken, Cordelia/Libra, Cherche/Kellam among a lot more. Are these pairings ok or am I going to find out that I've messed up? I haven't experienced any difficulties yet and go through chapters pretty easily so far.

Any advice would be good! Love the game but don't want to think I'm playing it completely wrong!
#2fawful_XPosted 7/2/2013 6:45:19 AM
Pairings don't really matter much unless you're doing Min/Max.

The only pairings that are irredeemably terrible are Gregor/Olivia and Donnel/Inigo, for they don't give anything but caps (and Villager in Donnel's case, but Villager sucks).

Even then, pair whoever you want, but try not to overuse Frederick and the Avatar or grind too much if you want a challenge.
---
RNG can mean "Random Nonsense Generator."
Or it can be used as a synonym for a female merchant with red hair, with no negative connotations.
#3GoonerByron(Topic Creator)Posted 7/2/2013 8:03:31 AM