New to the series...

#1Greg_thestrangePosted 8/1/2014 3:32:19 PM
And looking to get better. I kept a tally of how many times I had units die while playing. I'm playing on casual since it's my first time and really my first tactical rpg... unless you count the two hours of final fantasy tactics on the GBA when it came out that my buddy let me try it out. I've lost twice as many units as total units that I have. Which tells me I'm awful at this game. Granted, nearly a 3rd of them are Lissa and Mirabell. Regardless... I'm TERRIBLE at this game.

I know that swords beat axes, axes beat spears, and spears beat swords. I know that wind magic and bowman are the bane of a winged beast's existence. Hammers decimate armor and magic practically ignores it but I just KEEP losing units!

Any suggestions from you Tacticians and Grandmasters out there?
---
3ds friend code: 4656-6897-2218
PSN: Gengyo
#2Blademaster_AioPosted 8/1/2014 3:37:43 PM
Press X to see danger zones. This is the basic rule of everything. Or press a unit to see their danger zone.

Don't rush forward.

Firstly, use Kellam to bait the enemy. He's your armor knight, and has high defense. Bait one unit at a time. Manage your kills. Your squishies should never be put in the danger zone.

Use pair up.
---
Believe God is one, and believe in the hereafter.
#3Blademaster_AioPosted 8/1/2014 3:39:50 PM
Though, what exactly are you having problems with?
---
#4Blademaster_AioPosted 8/1/2014 3:42:14 PM
The only thing I can think of is that your positioning is bad.
---
#5Flame552Posted 8/1/2014 3:46:21 PM(edited)
First off, what level are you playing? Normal or Hard? ...Possibly Lunatic?

General words of advice:
1) Pair Up Bonuses are your friend.

2) But don't get obsessed with them. While a character gets buffed, you're effectively loosing a unit on the field.