Good title to pick up?

#1Ultima_OmegaPosted 11/19/2012 6:36:58 PM
I haven't played any Harvest Moon game after Back to Nature but a few days ago I started playing it again and that got me back into the series. Is this a good one to pick up or is there an older release that is just as good?
---
"I need a gun."
"No, I need a gun; you need to get the hell outta here before I find one."
#2StormfeatherPosted 11/19/2012 6:57:36 PM
Well, yes to both. Yes, this is a great title in the series, one of the top ones IMO, so you'd do well to pick it up if you liked the HM style in general. There are other good ones in the series recently though, although not so much on handheld.

Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility and Harvest Moon: Animal Parade are somewhat similar games (same townspeople, similar playstyle) that came out for the Wii, and both are great, although I'd go with Animal Parade. (Plus you can get it somewhat cheaply sometimes.)

Harvest Moon: DS was probably the best of the games on the DS, at least in my opinion, though I guess it's not to everyone's taste. Well, rather I liked "DS Cute" which is the female version... the regular version had a bunch of bugs though. -_-

If you go back a bit farther, A Magical Melody was for the Gamecube and was also quite good, although the art style probably wouldn't be to everyone's taste.

And the Rune Factory games (for DS and then two for Wii) are a ton of fun, if you like RPG elements and combat, exploring, crafting, etc. mixed in with your Harvest Moon.
---
Please insert witty quote here.
#31337ROXPosted 11/19/2012 7:01:31 PM
The first Rune Factory is the only game in the series I know of where you can actually DIE. I think there was another one that involved a lvl 99 poison mushroom.
---
That looks like a homing shot!
3DS: 4511-0726-1828
#4Ultima_Omega(Topic Creator)Posted 11/19/2012 7:28:09 PM(edited)