Transformers: Fall of Cybertron Demo Impressions (unbiased)

#1abit2therightPosted 7/29/2012 9:32:57 AM
Hello everyone! My name is Adam and this is my first attempt of a semi-review so far of the demo for T:FoC.

History:
I have played the original, Transformers: War for Cybertron extensively during my time with the game and my gamertag is the following: abit2theright (please add me so we can play if you want!).

Initial Impressions:
After reading some of the other impressions from Gamespot, I have to say I agree/disagree with what I've seen based off playing the game. Firstly, YES, the game is very similar to the first installment. In fact, its so similar (the feel), it makes me wonder if this was more of a cosmetic upgrade than anything else (more on this subject later). Because of the above statement, veterans will find the game very similar to the first, along with several things missing: killstreaks included. This part I agree with what is being said on the boards, as the "skill" factor is decreased from previous installments. Another complaint I saw was about the balancing; however I dismiss this as the game was in the BETA stage plus they can always tweak classes after launch.

Improvements:
So far the biggest (if only) improvement I have seen is in the graphical cosmetics. A great amount of detail was put into every aspect of the presentation down to the individual gears on each robot. One area I would like to point out is the customization aspect: a great example of the amount of work that went into this improvement can be found on the WEAPONS themselves. Looking at the previous installment, you can tell the detail was not there like this game (much appreciated).

Still the same: