Hard difficulty help!

#1neverpodPosted 10/28/2012 1:06:53 PM
I'm new to this series but I always choose Hard difficulty for strategy games. The difficulty was fine so far (minimum lost) until I ran into the necromancer in the cave after dragon's tooth quest. I feel like my viking is done here... Cleared the map completely, bought all the best artifacts, tried all the combination of units that make sense to me and still can't defeat him. I have to focus on those ancient vampires before my army get too weak and unable to deal 70ish damage in 1 turn then there's too many Ghosts and Zombies to deal with.

As a viking, do I have to rely on no-scaling Viking Vortex? 70-80 dmg per turn + scrolls that I never use since the beginning of the game seems to fall short in this fight. I could imagine Skald with bigger army and Soothsayer with more nukes would be manageable but Viking has nothing to ease this fight.

Am I playing this wrong? Any suggestion would be appreciated.
#2DBogatzPosted 10/28/2012 1:38:32 PM
What troops are you using? I just beat him with a Warrior on Hard and I think I only lost a dozen troops or so.

1. Spam the Rage skill every turn where it will do maximum damage.
2. Don't approach his troops - let them come to you. Zombies, even with their dash, are slow, and he has a bunch of small stacks of everything. Gang up on whatever makes it to you first.
3. Make use of all your troops abilities - make sure you're using berserk on your berserkers for example, and using Runes.
4. You might want to consider not worrying about the Vamps, unless there's a really big stack. They're resilient (good D and heal to full at the start of their turn) but they don't deal a ton of damage. Alternatively, target the ones in bat form, since I think their D is weaker.
#3BladenytePosted 10/28/2012 5:39:47 PM
early on the rage skills are horribly unimpressive.. but once you get your first valkriye on your team and start unlocking a few more rage skills, they are freaking amazing.