I wish this were a SOCOM game with a second character

#1PiesiaPosted 4/22/2012 4:59:13 AM
This game is great with 1.67 vita fm and Zipper fixes! I've been playing for a few days and completed up to mission six with no problem -- even when the Vita goes to sleep (which is when the hang would occur before)

Now that either Sony or Zipper or both have fixed the problem where playing Unit 13 would hang your Vita, I am playing this a lot -- I think the game has a fair amount of replayability.

I * do * wish that they'd added a second support NPC like in the PSP SOCOM games. Some of these missions (mission 7, for example) seem like something that one person wouldn't be asked to do alone -- I have no experience with SWAT teams or the military, perhaps some who does could say whether or not they'd send one person out to do something like this with no immediate support.

I know you can do a second person in coop, and I know it's a game -- since it's supposedly a military organization and since the company has experience doing player + NPC games, I'm just wondering why they didn't do that here?

Best regards,

Piesia
#2sejembalmPosted 4/22/2012 5:32:11 AM
NOBODY could do these missions in real life. Sneak into enemy bases, alone with no artillery or air support, gunning down terrorists, sabotaging things, assassinating leaders, and getting out. Especially THESE enemies, cranked up to super-alertness on Turkish coffee, and with the deadly accuracy of the Egyptian Olympic Shooting Team. Having super-elite soldiers capable of doing something like this would be squandering them, sending them on such suicide missions. They work as teams, I would imagine. But gaming non-playable characters can be problematic as you must program their actions in which they do not screw up the activity of the playable character or get too much in the way. SOCOM games had this problem, but largely fixed it throughout the series.