Tekken noob here, some questions.

#1Mutsu_KenichiPosted 4/30/2012 2:46:51 AM
Please don't kill me. But I heard from my online friend (Soul Calibur player who seems to dislike Tekken) in Tekken you only need to learn 7or 8 moves for each character to win. The rest of moves don't really matter, is that true?

And which character is noob friendly? I only played Jin and Asuka in Tekken 5.
---
Waiting for Gundam Extreme VS, Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown, ZOE HD remake and Dai 2 Ji Super Robot Taisen OG
#2OemeniaPosted 4/30/2012 3:50:26 AM
In Tekken, the bread and butter of your damage are the juggles. For these, you need to learn the launchers, some combos to keep them in the air, a bound move and another combo to finish it off. While youve launched someone, you can only do so much before they are too far to keep hitting, but if they are still within reach, thats when you use bound to bounce them on the floor and keep your combo going for a little longer.

So yes, your friend is right in that sense that if you get a few combos down, its half the battle. However, there is much more to the combat system. Firstly the moves that are available, you to assess when to use them, or which one to use to get the first hit and then go into a juggle . Other moves track players who side step, or there are moves you can use while you back is turned and some that poke enemies to catch them off guard and give you the advantage. On top of that, there are mechanics of the game you need to learn such as the ground game.

As for which character to start off with, you can probably guess that its a character whos juggles are easy to learn. 1up have a great guide on who does so, make sure you check it out. As for Jin and Asuka, they are fairly beginner friendly but their juggles are actually rather weak so i would avoid them.
---
100% PC/PS3/360
#3jnw93Posted 4/30/2012 6:51:33 AM

i find soul cal easier than tekken you get punished alot more in tekken if you make a mistake