This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is STAB a factor for determining tier?

#1game2002Posted 7/25/2012 9:18:17 AM
What the topic title says.

I'm not an expert in metagames, but from what I've seen, the answer seems to be yes, though there seems to be exceptions as well.

Before the 4th gen., Gengar lacked strong STABs due to having low attack, but it still managed to be in the OU tier. The same was said for Blissey. Still, there were Pokemon that mostly got ignored and was low in the tier list due to lacking strong STABs.

So what's the answer to this?

<_<

>_>

*awaits the somewhat inevitable mention of Flareon and a strong physical STAB for it, which, admittedly, is one reason I started this topic*
---
Praise the Lord, our one true God!
#2mnkysprnPosted 7/25/2012 9:20:28 AM
Yeah Shadow Ball and Sludge Bomb weren't strong STABs for Gengar.

No STAB is not a factor for Tiers. The pokemon's stats, movepool, and usefulness against the rest of the tier is what organizes the tiers.
---
OT: Black FC: 1721 2588 4695
#3TheWayofPiePosted 7/25/2012 9:21:54 AM
There are a lot of factors besides STAB, such as typing, defenses, weaknesses, abilities.

STABs are just one part.
---
Ridley: *Adjusts monocole* Why, I've become civilized, my dear Samantha! Anyway, come, sit, have some tea. -Master_Warlord7 Same Time Posts: 8
#40rpheusTelosPosted 7/25/2012 9:23:49 AM
back in the day both poison and ghost were counted as physical moves so nobody would use them on Gengar. However he still had amazing speed and sp.atk and access to strong special moves so he was put in OU.
#5game2002(Topic Creator)Posted 7/25/2012 9:26:18 AM
Okay, supposed the physical-special split never happened, would the current tier list look any different?
---
Praise the Lord, our one true God!
#6Meta289Posted 7/25/2012 9:27:40 AM
It would look very different.
---
http://meta289.deviantart.com/#/d4j1eby
The Pokemon Cycle. Don't deny its existence.