This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

New here! Questions about competitive...

#1Skyward_SneaselPosted 11/25/2012 1:19:37 PM
Hi everybody! I'm new here, and although I have been following the boards for a while, I only now decided to join you all.

I have been playing Pokemon for about 12 years, but I've never really done any competitive battling. I have now decided I should give it a go, and thought that a good team to begin with was an Eeveelution team. I do have a couple of questions though:
1. Is this a viable team?
2. Are there any pieces of advice or wisdom you would impart on a new competitive battler?
3. If necessary, could someone explain Smogon to me? It doesn't make much sense to me, I understand in-game concepts but Smogon and tiers confuse me

Thank you in advance, and I hope you will welcome me into your community with open arms!

tl;dr: I'm new, need help, please help, bye!
#2Octaivian_RexPosted 11/25/2012 1:22:59 PM(edited)
http://www.smogon.com/dp/articles/intro_comp_pokemon

There you go!

And no, an eeveelution team is not viable outside of ***** and giggles.
---
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/4489/actuallyworks.gif
#3uuurrrgghPosted 11/25/2012 1:23:17 PM
Anything works ingame, you might want to use something else in pvp
2. Are there any pieces of advice or wisdom you would impart on a new competitive battler?
BEWARE OF THE STALL TEAMS!
3. If necessary, could someone explain Smogon to me? It doesn't make much sense to me, I understand in-game concepts but Smogon and tiers confuse me
Smogon finds strategies for pokemon, and they grade how useful they can be in battle, stats, moves, and strategy-wise
---
I always listen, I just don't respond.
B2 FC: 3010 5891 4441
#4TableFlipPosted 11/25/2012 1:33:31 PM
Skyward_Sneasel posted...
Hi everybody! I'm new here, and although I have been following the boards for a while, I only now decided to join you all.