This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

The FIRST 150 Pokemon Were the BEST 150 Pokemon

#1GalladetheGreatPosted 1/2/2013 8:32:28 AM
Nostalgia is a powerful force, sure, but look through the original illustrations and you will find it to be true: there is a certain charm, a certain charismatic quality that is missing from the newest Pokémon. As an artist, I find it really interesting to look through the prototype illustrations and concept art behind the frachise, dating back to when the series was called Capsule Monsters.

Rhydon, Bulbasaur, Blastoise: They were fantastical creatures, and Taijiri really had a fantastic concept. The world we can see in these prototypal concept works is pungent and relatable. Sugimori's artwork has paled, in recent years, to capture this fantasy. The designs behind these new Pokémon are not the same; they are convoluted, over-complicated, and if they are Pokémon, they are not the Pokémon they used to be.

A look at the modern art direction for Pokémon reveals a steady decline in anything novel since the days even of Red and Blue. Divorce this from a bias: my favourite generation was the second, because the games were just so fun, but the design and artwork I can easily say was already in a state of decline. We begin to see designs that stand out among the others, especially among the legends. Raikou and the other legendary beasts come to mind: over-complicated when compared to the other Pokémon, which are tastefully simple by comparison, though not without characteristic charm.