This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is it still possible to plow through the game with just your starter?

#1EternalNetherPosted 1/2/2013 11:11:36 AM
I haven't played Black and Black 2 yet, but I was just curious about this. Back when Pokemon Red came out I was around 10 or 11. I remember playing it and beating it 3 different times, using ONLY my starter pokemon. So I beat it once each with just Blastoise, Charizard, and Bulbasaur (I miss those guys) and never bothered to catch many others except for the use of HMs and a legendary bird as backup in case my main was knocked out.

It was pretty easy, truth be told. But after Gen 2 came out I started playing with a full team of whatever I chose and raising them all. With Black and Black 2, I'm going to play like I always do, but after I beat it once or twice, I was considering trying again to just beat the game using only my starter Pokemon.

Also, in Black 2 is it still set up so that you can't use or see any of the old Pokemon from previous generations until after you've beaten the game?
#2CM_PonchPosted 1/2/2013 11:12:55 AM
You probably can, but depending on your starter's typing, enemies with sturdy can do some damage.
---
KingRohitVerma has the best wang in the universe
http://i.imgur.com/tIG7b.png
#3overmaxxPosted 1/2/2013 11:19:01 AM(edited)
It's way harder now, due to the new experience curve.

But yeah it's possible, Audinos are your friend.

EDIT: Also, Black 2 and White 2 have Pokemon from all regions right from the start. It has the best wild variety in the entire series. The game is amazing.
#4protobakurionPosted 1/2/2013 11:19:43 AM
You can get Pokemon from previous Generations at the start of Black 2 and White 2.
---
---
The Official Porygon Z of the B2/W2 boards
#5EternalNether(Topic Creator)Posted 1/2/2013 11:28:23 AM