This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Never played meta-game / online. Where do I start?

#1VenomousXPosted 2/8/2013 5:27:23 AM
I've always played pokemon single-player due to social anxiety etc. Anyway, I think I'm finally ready to give it a shot.

I know about EVs, and a little about IVs. I'm completely new to breeding, and what to look for in building a competitive team. A lot of the lingo thrown around (overused? neverused? weather teams?) on most sites is lost on me because I've only ever played the offline game, and such things aren't needed to beat it.

I don't want to go online and embarrass myself with a horrible team / bad moveset.. so where should I turn to learn some basics?
---
3DS FC: 0576-3975-0897
#2MugilokoPosted 2/8/2013 5:28:22 AM
Smogon
---
BlackFC:1807-8830-3725 "Squids are evil!" http://i.imgur.com/VcOip.png
Official Zoroark of the Pokemon XY board
#3Reyman500Posted 2/8/2013 5:33:15 AM
^ type that into google. Jus remember that all hate towards smogon is valid and you shouldn't ever praise them, call em the devil from time to time and you'll fit in. >__>..
---
Poliwag hax shttp://pokemonshowdown.com/replay/randombattle7716029
*OFFICIAL DOWN SYNDROME OF X/Y BOARDS*
#4VenomousX(Topic Creator)Posted 2/8/2013 5:50:17 AM
I have sort of a hard time understanding smogon honestly. I mean that strategy pokedex thing seems great, I can click on and read about how pokemon are used, but I don't know where to look to read about team building and such?
---
#5ShinGoukenPosted 2/8/2013 5:58:19 AM(edited)
VenomousX posted...
I have sort of a hard time understanding smogon honestly. I mean that strategy pokedex thing seems great, I can click on and read about how pokemon are used, but I don't know where to look to read about team building and such?