Stealth cruiser pilots: Is the Titanium System Casing worth it?

#1ninjaofdarknessPosted 3/6/2013 4:00:11 PM
I'm not an expert stealth pilot by any means, but here's my assessment on it: It seems to be good in the beginning when your stealth is on cooldown and you inevitably take those hits, keep certain systems up can be the difference between clutch success and horrible doom.

However, as you progress, its usefulness seems to diminish. I don't get hit that often- in fact, the most common reason my systems go down is because of boarders. Rock Hull Plating usefulness seems more obvious- yea, your systems may go down, but you're still in the fight, as opposed to this, where your systems stay up, but you still get horribly blown to bits. That, and it's worth 50 space bucks, which can really help.
#2rhaining23Posted 3/6/2013 4:28:59 PM
I haven't played this ship yet, but I get the impression this was an intentional design decision for multiple ships. Engi have a medbot dispersal system, which helps offset weakness against boarders, but as you get deeper into the run, you'll have multiple defenses against boarders so you're probably better off selling it for cash and making room for other augments. Rock plating never becomes worthless per se, but if you have high level shields + defense drone, the plating is probably worth more as scrap. I like the fact that these race-specific augments are incredibly hard to get if you don't start with them, but you can still sell them. Sometimes I sell them early when I'm really strapped for cash, sometimes I sell them late when I feel other augments could be more valuable, and sometimes I use them until the end.