Ranking System and Disconnectors (Developer's Rant)

#1Fallen_RikuPosted 12/9/2012 3:52:10 PM
*Warning: There is a lot of text to read*
Also, I'm a software developer, so this may skew my view just a bit, but I make these points as a player of the game itself. But there are some things I can't help but notice, especially with the ranking system and the online component.

This is not a new issue with online gaming, so it is amazing how much little effort the developers went into curbing the issue of those players that rage-quit or disconnect from online matches when they start to lose. This is naturally even more annoying in ranked matched, because it can cause 'you' to lose ranking points and cost you time and effort. I am currently purple belt, but just getting there was ridiculous, because of the amount of disconnectors. It makes the online component more frustrating than fun.

I feel that the developers “cheaped out” with Playstation All-Stars. Not just because of the UI being bare minimum, the lack of a coherent story, the still image story telling, etc. But because it is obvious the main selling point for players to keep playing the game, will be for the online matches and cross compatibility with the Vita, yet this was released with Peer to Peer hosting?

For those that don't know (but I'm sure that the audience that reads this board is mostly technically inclined) online gaming can either have a dedicated host/server, or a random player among those currently playing together, will become the host and everyone connects to that player. The latter is known Peer to Peer hosting. It is an all around terrible idea for many reasons, that I will explain.