Monster Hunter Tri

#1Versal1331Posted 12/17/2012 11:04:59 AM
Ok, so I am an old monster hunter vet. I started with Monster Hunter Freedom and managed to get around 2,000 hours spread out across Freedom 1, Freedom 2, and Freedom Unite, but after that I stopped. I picked up Tri when it was released, but never got into it because of other issues in life and eventually sold it with my Wii. Now that I have a Wii U, I am really looking forward to Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, but I would like something to hold me off until then. My question is do you think getting Monster Hunter Tri and playing it for the next 3 months would ruin the experience of Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate?
#2CrmsnFatalis96Posted 12/17/2012 11:38:52 AM
Versal1331 posted...
Ok, so I am an old monster hunter vet. I started with Monster Hunter Freedom and managed to get around 2,000 hours spread out across Freedom 1, Freedom 2, and Freedom Unite, but after that I stopped. I picked up Tri when it was released, but never got into it because of other issues in life and eventually sold it with my Wii. Now that I have a Wii U, I am really looking forward to Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, but I would like something to hold me off until then. My question is do you think getting Monster Hunter Tri and playing it for the next 3 months would ruin the experience of Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate?

It wouldn't ruin the experience, but it would certainly diminish it, a lot.

You also cannot bring Tri data over to MH3U, so you will have to do everything over again (there are more monsters interspersed throughout, however).
#3sting__artPosted 12/17/2012 12:35:07 PM
Its been 2 years since i last played MH:Tri and i'm not going to play it right now. Diminishing my experience and getting my MH fix right before a new release would definitely be a bad choice.
#4BeysusPosted 12/17/2012 1:35:22 PM
No, just wait a little longer and experience MH3U with all your hype, you won't be disappointed!
#5DryMaltExtractPosted 12/17/2012 2:13:18 PM