Why does a game with good graphIcs cost more to produce?

#1garcia_jxPosted 5/4/2014 9:02:23 AM
Just curious...What goes in to making a game with good graphIcs? Time and labor? I thought the hardware was there to make a game look good, regardless of the developer.

I ask, because we see games like Ryse and Infamous on their respected platforms, then we see games like Spider-Man 2 that are on both platforms, and they look like crap. Isn't it using the same hardware, so why wouldn't the game look good or something along the lines of AC IV?

By the way, I have no knowledge of game developing.
#2AppleJeZusPosted 5/4/2014 9:06:02 AM
The use/development of the engine costs money, the time to make the game costs them money.

Think about it this way, if a movie company wants to add cgi scenes into a movie, they could spend the time and money producing amazing models and textures or they could spend a week or two and be done with a crappy product that had no production cost.
---
PSN, Steam, GT: AppleJeZus FC: 3282-2984-1471
Asrock Z77 Extreme3 || Intel i7 3770k || 16gb Kingston RAM || EVGA GTX 780ti
#3Run_2_the_HillsPosted 5/4/2014 9:21:14 AM(edited)
Cause it takes more time. Time is money. All cause the hardware is there, there is still people working on it: rendering, getting reflective things to look right, models, etc. And to make that look good you either need more time or more manpower, usually both.
#4kakarot-uchihaPosted 5/4/2014 10:18:26 AM