What Does Direct X Do?

#1SearchmanV16Posted 5/12/2014 7:02:20 AM
What does Direct X do for the Xbox One? I am not a PC gamer, so idk what it even does. Does it close the hardware gap or just shortens it?
---
Let's go Heat, Jaguars, Panthers, Canes, and Yankees.
Current Devices: Galaxy Note 3, iPad Mini, and PS4.
#2KOOGARPosted 5/12/2014 7:05:54 AM
It sings the lullaby for the Xbone.
---
Don't read this - it hurts your eyes.
#3Tyronelio1Posted 5/12/2014 7:12:44 AM
I'm not a techie or anything but I think it's just for allocating resources and optimisation?
---
Welcome to Sonyfaqs.com.
Currently playing: Bayonetta, DBZ: Raging Blast 2, WWE/NBA 2K13, Alan Wake, GTAIV: Complete Edition, TC: HAWX 2, Dark Souls 2.
#4CharadeSmithPosted 5/12/2014 7:13:44 AM
it's the imaginary friend who establishes communication between software and hardware
---
Master! We are in a tight spot!
#5Jptremblay13Posted 5/12/2014 7:19:07 AM
"DirectX is a set of low-level Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that provides Windows programs with high-performance hardware-accelerated multimedia support. DirectX enables the program to easily determine the hardware capabilities of your computer, and then sets the program parameters to match."
#6cheezedadadaPosted 5/12/2014 7:19:21 AM
DirectX is basically just a collection of APIs. APIs are just programming interfaces that are designed to control how software works..pretty much just resources that can call routines/functions and ease the actual task of programming itself. It helps to optimize and lessen the required work of a specific task through those means.