This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

My idea for a Houndoom evolution: Hounderus/Houndirge

#1CenedarprimePosted 3/8/2013 12:44:50 PM
This is my first attempt at taking an established Pokemon and giving it a fan-made evo with hopefully balanced stats. I wanted it to push on psuedo-legendary territory without necessarily meeting it. I guess I'll leave it up to you to decide. Be kind but don't be afraid of constructive criticism. Emphasis on CONSTRUCTIVE.

For comparison's sake, here's Houndoom:

Houndoom
Dark/Fire
Ability: Flash Fire/Early Bird (Unnerve in DW)
HP: 75
Atk: 90
Def: 50
Sp. Atk: 110
SDef: 80
Speed: 95
BST: 500

And now, for his evolution, to be named either Hounderus or Houndirge.

Hounderus/Houndirge
Dark/Fire
Ability: Flash Fire/Flame Body (Sheer Force in DW)
HP: 100
Atk: 75
Def: 70
Sp. Atk: 130
SDef: 90
Speed: 105
BST: 570

I feel this is balanced because it gives Houndirge/berus more potential as a special sweeper with additional bulk, sacrificing some physical attack and therefore its effectiveness with moves like Crunch and, more importantly, Sucker Punch. Dark and Fire make a potent offensive combo, making it a Dragon Pokemon's best friend with its ability to roast many steel types. It also gains SE coverage on both Ferrothorn AND Jellicent with its STAB, meaning many will want to run this Pokemon just to cover those threats.

Houndirge/berus reaches a base stat total of 570, placing it 30 points beneath Pokemon considered to be 'psuedo-legendary' (a la Tyranitar, Metagross, Garchomp, etc.) and 20 points above Volcarona's BST. In exchange for a smaller BST, Volcarona gets access to the far superior boosting move in Quiver Dance, while Houndirge/berus is stuck with either Nasty Plot or Calm Mind.