The message you selected is no longer available for viewing.

This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is it best to evolve a Pokemon ASAP?

#1NoxatroxPosted 4/2/2013 7:42:45 PM
I've recently become kind of interested in trying to get my pokemon as "powerful" as possible after learning about EVs and stuff (although I have to say that I'm still a noob at it). Anyways, a question that I've always wondered like my entire childhood is if it's best to evolve a pokemon as soon as possible. Like for example, lets say that my Abra just reached level 16 and evolved into a Kadabra. Should I trade it to a friend right away and back in order to get a level 16 Alakazam, or should I wait until it's level 30 or something?

Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question.

:c
---
Xbox Live Gamertag- Coneman50
#2UltimaZangetsuPosted 4/2/2013 7:43:37 PM
EVs can always be changed.
What's more important is the moves either form learns and when they learn them.
---
"Whoa! Heads up, detecting high levels of space chickens."
"No! Space chickens are a surgeon's worst nightmare."
#3Tatakai-No-KamiPosted 4/2/2013 7:44:15 PM
evolve ASAP, unless you need to get a certain move that is only available as a pre-evo.

breloom with spore is an example.
---
imanalt.
#4Noxatrox(Topic Creator)Posted 4/2/2013 7:45:45 PM
UltimaZangetsu posted...
EVs can always be changed.
What's more important is the moves either form learns and when they learn them.

So evolving later doesn't affect a pokemon's final stats?
---
#5Brandon00151Posted 4/2/2013 7:46:09 PM
Nope. A Pokemon's stats will catch up once it evolves no matter how long you hold it off.
#6EstheimasterPosted 4/2/2013 7:46:29 PM
For the most part, the stats are better than the waiting longer for moves. There are exceptions, such as Joltik in BW learning Bug Buzz a good ~14 levels earlier than his evolution and having no good bug moves until then.