This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is it best to evolve a Pokemon ASAP?

• Topic Archived

You have been randomly selected to participate in the Beta Test of our new message list page. We've rolled out this test in order to get additional feedback and error reports from a wider subset of users. We'll only display this notice once, but permanent links to disable the Beta, provide feedback, and get more information will be located at the bottom of each message list.

To disable this test for now, click here. For more information, please read our announcement about this redesign.

1. Boards
  2. Pokemon X
  3. Is it best to evolve a Pokemon ASAP?
2 years ago#1
I've recently become kind of interested in trying to get my pokemon as "powerful" as possible after learning about EVs and stuff (although I have to say that I'm still a noob at it). Anyways, a question that I've always wondered like my entire childhood is if it's best to evolve a pokemon as soon as possible. Like for example, lets say that my Abra just reached level 16 and evolved into a Kadabra. Should I trade it to a friend right away and back in order to get a level 16 Alakazam, or should I wait until it's level 30 or something?

Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question.

:c
---
Xbox Live Gamertag- Coneman50
2 years ago#2
EVs can always be changed.
What's more important is the moves either form learns and when they learn them.
---
"Whoa! Heads up, detecting high levels of space chickens."
"No! Space chickens are a surgeon's worst nightmare."
2 years ago#3
evolve ASAP, unless you need to get a certain move that is only available as a pre-evo.

breloom with spore is an example.
---
imanalt.
2 years ago#4
UltimaZangetsu posted...
EVs can always be changed.
What's more important is the moves either form learns and when they learn them.

So evolving later doesn't affect a pokemon's final stats?
---
2 years ago#5