This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is it me or is Stealth Rock really over-hyped due to Showdown

#1gans626Posted 4/10/2013 7:38:54 PM
Ok it seems when you play on Pokemon Showdown, Stealth Rock does some pretty decent opening damage. When I started playing Diamond and tried used Stealth Rock it doesn't to jack for damage. So unless I'm using it wrong, I'm not seeing the greatness that is Stealth Rock when I play an actual game and not some battle simulation site.
---
Albert Wesker for President 2016
#2LexifoxPosted 4/10/2013 7:42:37 PM
It's really about residual damage to most types, notable damage to a few types, and ruining Focus Sash, Sturdy, and/or Multiscale Pokemon.
---
"Murder of the living is tragic, but murder of the idea is unforgivable." - Janus, speaker of the synod
#3SerperiorThanUPosted 4/11/2013 3:14:40 AM
Using stealth rock for in-game? What?This is about competitive 6 on 6 singles. They were using SPIKES since Gen II.
#4pokemonfreak97Posted 4/11/2013 4:26:04 AM
gans626 posted...
Ok it seems when you play on Pokemon Showdown, Stealth Rock does some pretty decent opening damage. When I started playing Diamond and tried used Stealth Rock it doesn't to jack for damage. So unless I'm using it wrong, I'm not seeing the greatness that is Stealth Rock when I play an actual game and not some battle simulation site.

Stealth Rock's damage to Pokémon, based on the effect of a Rock-type move on them:

0.25x: 3.125% HP
0.5x: 6.25% HP
1x: 12.5% HP
2x: 25% HP
4x: 50% HP

Try taking Charizard, Volcarona, Articuno, Delibird, Yanmega, and something else 4x weak to Rock on Wi-Fi and use a strategy with a lot of switching and U-Turn use. You should get slaughtered as soon as someone puts up Stealth Rock.
---
For those of you starting topics about the PS4, there's a PS4 board:
http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/691087-playstation-4
#5TBVGFIZPosted 4/11/2013 4:32:43 AM