This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Playing Gen 5 again after playing Gen 4 again, and...

#1Faust_8Posted 5/10/2013 11:02:02 PM
...damn did I forget how they amped up the encounter rates in this Gen.

Gen I-IV: Usually have to walk for a few seconds in grass to get a wild encounter

Gen V: Take 2 steps WILD ENCOUNTER

The amount of times you take ONE step and get a wild encounter is just ridiculous. I really don't know why they did this, they make you fear every patch of grass as an annoyance.

Of course other times when you're expecting it, you can walk through the whole patch like twice and nothing happens. WHY DO YOU PLAY WITH MY MIND SO??

Did anybody feel like this when you first tried Gen V? I'd forgotten about this until I started playing again a few days ago. (Also, not whining or anything, it's just a huge change I feel. I'm not so into Pokemon that I actively hate any of the Gens.)
---
You are the universe
Expressing itself as a human, for a little while
#2scrappybristolPosted 5/10/2013 11:04:12 PM
Automatic repels <3
---
I'm a jukebox hero.
#3Thepenguinking2Posted 5/10/2013 11:06:26 PM
That was my biggest problem with gen 5 besides the pokemon.
---
http://pokebot.everyboty.net/pix/217.jpg best picture to ever face the interwebs.
The Official Shiny Zangoose of the X/y Board!
#4LightningAce11Posted 5/10/2013 11:06:37 PM
scrappybristol posted...
Automatic repels <3

---
"Nostalgia makes the heart feeble. It is the heart's nemesis." - Trema
#5TherianReturnsPosted 5/10/2013 11:08:03 PM
Gen 5 was great. I'll never understand these nitpicky complaints.
---
I am the only true Pokemon fan. If you can't accept this, take your jealousy away from my presence.
#6Faust_8(Topic Creator)Posted 5/10/2013 11:10:27 PM
Gen V is great. This is just one change that leaves me scratching my head though.