This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

6 things you should know about using Charizard in OU

#1iKhanicPosted 6/28/2013 3:54:48 PM
So I've been using Charizard on a team for several months now, so I figured I'd make a miniature guide. Keep in mind that I am by no means an expert and this is just what I've learned from using Charizard.

1. Don't use Charizard- I love Charizard, and I think most of this board know that, but I'll be honest, Charizard is terrible in OU. Unless you particularly want to use Charizard (which is my case), don't use it. It really isn't a good choice if you are just filling a spot on your team

2. Physical Charizard is awful- BellyZard worked a few gens ago when OU wasn't as fast or as powerful. Besides, Darmanitan knows Belly Drum, is almost as fast, and has waaay better attack.It doesn't work anymore. In regards to Swords Dance and Dragon Dance, Charizard has NO niche at all. Not even a small one. Base 84 Atk is usable, but there is really no reason or benefit to using it.

3. Only use SP Charizard on a Sun Team- SP may not be a great ability, but it does give Charizard a niche. With Solar Power, Charizard can OHKO or 2HKO nearly everything in OU without having to take a turn to boost.. And you can remedy the damage with leftovers if you like.

4. Keep Stealth Rock away- Charizard isn't slow by any means, but like most fire types, it's not THAT fast either. That means you are going to want to switch out when something like Terrakion switches in. So you should either use an Espeon or a rapid spinner. I prefer Espeon because it can pass Calm Mind boosts to aid in a sweep. It also helps that it's my 2nd favorite and my signature pokemon.