This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is it cheating to have two of the same items on a team?

  • Topic Archived
  1. Boards
  2. Pokemon X
  3. Is it cheating to have two of the same items on a team?
2 years ago#1
I plan on battling my friend soon with an Eviolite Porygon2 and Eviolite Chansey. I want to destroy said friend, but I don't want to do so if I have an inherent advantage. I've heard that more than two of the same items is okay, but I'm now sure.
---
3DS Username: Alex. Pokemon Y FC: 2208 4898 3237. Pokemon Safari: Emolga, Stunfisk, Galvantula.
2 years ago#2
Depends on the item.

Ol' Smogon forbids it, but...
---
3DS FC: 1950 8577 8687- Flying: Swanna, Doduo, Rufflet SV:1496 IGN:Jin Region: UK
The official Super Enraged Shadow Lugia of the Pokemon X/Y boards
2 years ago#3
Most people don't use the Item Clause, so you'll be fine except for the fact that the game only gives you one Eviolite.
---
~{Sorry_Sleeping}~
2 years ago#4
It depends whether or not your friend follows the item clause.

The item clause states that two Pokemon on a team cannot hold the same item. However, alot of people don't bother with the item clause. The only way to know whether or not your friend considers it cheating is to ask him.
---
I'm a soldier in the war against fanboys. My only weapon? Reason.
Pokemon X FC - 0447 6354 6600 IGN - Lee
2 years ago#5
The_Dragonw posted...
Depends on the item.

Ol' Smogon forbids it, but...


Nintendo uses the Item Clause more than Smogon does.
---
~{Sorry_Sleeping}~
2 years ago#6
It depends on your established rules. Competitive battling on the OU/UU/Uber scale allows for repeated items, while the official Pokemon online rules do not. If you use 2 Eviolites, nothing is stopping your opponent from using a team full of Choice Band users.
---
3DS FC: 4596 9948 4995 (Fighting Safari with Machoke, Throh, and Riolu)
Shiny Value: 695 (PM me to hatch your shiny- I won't ask for anything in return!)
2 years ago#7
Red_Scout posted...
The_Dragonw posted...
Depends on the item.

Ol' Smogon forbids it, but...


Nintendo uses the Item Clause more than Smogon does.

Wait, what?

So....
So I technically could use an Assault Vest team, as long as I don't do any....official battles?
---
3DS FC: 1950 8577 8687- Flying: Swanna, Doduo, Rufflet SV:1496 IGN:Jin Region: UK
The official Super Enraged Shadow Lugia of the Pokemon X/Y boards
2 years ago#8
Well you can't use it on rated battle spot, but it's not banned by smogon rules.
2 years ago#9
I'm not sure if rated battles use Item Clause, but regular online battle you can use 6 Assault Vest users. I have a team where everyone but my Harvest Phantump run leftovers.
---
~{Sorry_Sleeping}~
2 years ago#10
The_Dragonw posted...
Red_Scout posted...
The_Dragonw posted...
Depends on the item.

Ol' Smogon forbids it, but...


Nintendo uses the Item Clause more than Smogon does.

Wait, what?

So....
So I technically could use an Assault Vest team, as long as I don't do any....official battles?


Nintendo's official rated/tournament formats enforce the item clause. No one else does, definitely not Smogon (not their standard rules, anyway). So yes, go for it.

As for TC, I say go for it. Using two of the same item doesn't really doesn't make much of a difference in power, though you may want agree on it beforehand or not do it if your friend is the type who will take any excuse to avoid admitting they lost fair and square.
---
Pokemon X Friend Code: 3265-5262-3517 - Adam
  1. Boards
  2. Pokemon X
  3. Is it cheating to have two of the same items on a team?

Report Message

Terms of Use Violations:

Etiquette Issues:

Notes (optional; required for "Other"):
Add user to Ignore List after reporting

Topic Sticky

You are not allowed to request a sticky.

  • Topic Archived