This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is a GPU considered failing if it still works 'some' of the time?

#1EternalNetherPosted 5/31/2012 10:07:46 PM
I'm pretty sure this is my first time ever dealing with failed hardware. My GPU has been going crazy for weeks now. Some days it's fine. Other days it will randomly start spawning artifacts all over the place until the fan shuts off on it, the screen goes black, and it comes back just fine with a driver error message in the bottom left. It happens while gaming, watching videos, or just sitting on the desktop.

In the past 24 hours it's gotten exceptionally worse. I've had this problem arise about a dozen times while playing Assassin's Creed (first 1, which I finished, then again not long into AC2). Recently the artifacting went completely nuts. I tried reverting my Nvidia drivers to a previous update...got a blue screen but then was able to get it finished. Still didn't work. Then it happened again and the system rebooted completely, and when it did the artifacting wasn't going away. It was stuck there and my drivers were not working at all. I couldn't make sense of anything. So I shut it down for 10 minutes and came back. Everything is fine for now.

And no, it's not overheating. I'm really almost 100% sure it's my GPU itself and not other hardware/software. I want to RMA it to MSI but I've never done it before and I'm worried if they boot it up and it seems to be working fine they won't replace it. Oh, and does anyone with MSI RMA experience know if they give you a new GPU or a refurbished/used one?
---
Diablo III sold 6.3 million copies in its first week. You can bet your ass they're going to bring the game to consoles.
#2DarkZV2BetaPosted 5/31/2012 10:20:28 PM
I've RMA'd a GTX460 because of a clicking fan. They're pretty good about RMAs.

That said, what GPU and what driver version? If it's the GTX560 or 560Ti, try using the new 301 series drivers.
---
mmarkster posted...