This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Bad Company 2 Has Been Stressin My Hardware.

#1EpicKingdom_Posted 6/2/2012 2:23:46 PM(edited)
At least I think it has been, ever since I started playing Bad Company 2 (high settings) @ 1440x900 I've had about 12+ hours of playtime but within all that time about two crashes two the desktop and just now a complete shutdown, I couldn't see what the temps (which usually stay under 60c on top of my case fans being on high already) were at, I assumed it was my crap unbranded 580w PSU finally failing but I'm back on my computer, so I assume the PSU is fine...for now. So what happened? It was a complete black out, no BSOD notifications. I'm scared to fire her up again. (the game).

Should I just hold off & get a new PSU in a couple days?
Thoughts? & thank you.

---
AMD Phenom II X2 565 Dual Core 3.4 Black Edition | Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 | ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB | Msi 760GM-P23(FX) AM3+| Antec 300 Mini Tower | 500GB HDD
#2daremePosted 6/2/2012 2:21:48 PM
Is your graphics card overclocked? If so put it back to stocks and it will probably solve the problem of stressing out your old psu.
#3EpicKingdom_(Topic Creator)Posted 6/2/2012 2:22:51 PM
dareme posted...
Is your graphics card overclocked? If so put it back to stocks and it will probably solve the problem of stressing out your old psu.

No, it's not.
---
AMD Phenom II X2 565 Dual Core 3.4 Black Edition | Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 | ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB | Msi 760GM-P23(FX) AM3+| Antec 300 Mini Tower | 500GB HDD
#4MrEverdredPosted 6/2/2012 2:50:33 PM(edited)
Install open hardware monitor ( http://openhardwaremonitor.org/ ), it sits in the tray and keeps track of your temps, usage%, etc. You can check the max temp your card/cpu reached while playing so you can at least know if things are getting too hot or not. You could also install MSI afterburner to see the temp in game but I wouldn't recommend it because it causes BC2 to crash on my system.