This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

5.1 Surround??

#1mcrsnumber1Posted 7/1/2012 8:55:39 PM
Hi, I am fairly new to PC. However I have recently upgraded a lot, and this includes a 5.1 surround system. I thought it was phenomenal, however I wanted to test out how it would sound on PS3 as well. Apparently I've been fooled. When I changed the settings to Optical and played BBC2, it was beyond amazing. Settings were set to home cinema. When I tried it on PC and settings also on Home Cinema. IT DID NOT sound nearly as good as it did on the ps3. I want to know why this is this way. I've been messing around with the Realtek Tool, but doesn't seem to match the audio quality and surround feeling I got from playing on the ps3. I m at a loss actually because of the huge gap in difference between the two systems.

The PC has an optical too. But why does it sound so DIFFERENT on ps3 under the same Home Cinema settings? What can I do to improve the PC sound to match that quality I got from the ps3?
#2AllHailTheDead6Posted 7/1/2012 9:06:15 PM
plug it into your graphics card to allow it to really sound good
---
PSN AllHailTheDead0
#3mcrsnumber1(Topic Creator)Posted 7/1/2012 9:11:15 PM
I can't IDK how. It's plugged into the Aesus motherboard. And I got a GTX580, and in the back it doesn't have an out for Optical? Idk what to do at this point. It boggles my mind that the ps3 can sound better.

Any help would be really appreciated.
#4AllHailTheDead6Posted 7/1/2012 9:12:47 PM
your using a receiver for your 5.1 right?

use an hdmi to mini hdmi and plug it into your graphics card
---
PSN AllHailTheDead0
#5mcrsnumber1(Topic Creator)Posted 7/1/2012 9:15:40 PM