This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

So my new 256GB SSD should arive fairly soon.

#1the0rangeb0xPosted 7/25/2012 10:28:30 AM
Since im new to this owning a SSD thing, im not really sure how to take care of an SSD properly. Ive always kept up with my HDD like defragging it, using CCleaner to clean the files up a little more. Now what are some good steps that i should take to make sure my SSD is performing well and maintaining good NAND. Also, does anyone one know where i can get a good FREE cloning tool?
---
Lenovo z575 | Windows 7 64-bit | 6gb DDR3 | AMD A6-3420m @ 1.5GHz-2.4GHz | Radeon crossfirex 6520g + 6650m = 6720G2 | 500Gb HDD | 15.6 led screen |
#2DragnfyrPosted 7/25/2012 10:39:54 AM
SSDs require less maintenance than HDDs. Disable defragging on the SSD and check that TRIM is enabled by following the instructions in this link http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itprohardware/thread/d06e1cb5-d518-447e-b3d6-db2d580899cb/

Also make sure that your SATA mode is set to AHCI in the BIOS. If it's not already set to AHCI you will have to follow these steps to get it working http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976 (IastorV is for RAID, you only need to change Msahci). Do that before you change SATA mode to AHCI.
---
MacBook Pro with Retina Display | 15.4" 2880x1800 | Core i7-3615QM @ 2.3GHz | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | GT 650M 1GB GDDR5 | 256GB SSD | OSX 10.7 | Windows 8 RP
#3rareware101Posted 7/25/2012 11:04:57 AM(edited)
Running WEI 'should' enable trim, disable defrag and a few other minor settings but manually check after running.

Disable hibernation if you don't use it and free up space. powercfg -h off from an elevated command prompt.