This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is it me or is the net code for Age of Empires II: HD Edition....

#1Lord_VaderPosted 8/1/2013 12:52:46 AM(edited)
absolutely horrible even though they re-released it after 13 years? I have been having connection problems with the game ever since I started playing it in 2000. However back then I could forgive the game because it was still the 56k era and getting a game to succesffully start alone was worth the effort. Plus the game itself was (and still is) amazing. However 13 years later the game still has many of the same connection problems that it did back then. And the sad thing is that they're asking us to pay $20 for such an old game that still has many of the net code problems it did in its heyday which could have been fixed. Most of the the time a game won't even start because someone gets stuck in the "waiting" phase in the "waiting for other players" screen. I have to join at least 5 or 6 rooms before a game is succesffuly started. But that's just the icing on the cake. If a game does manage to start, then there's almost always major lag which would be unacceptable in any other multiplayer game released today. Usually it's a 2 or 3 second delay but sometimes can be as high as 5 seconds. If I do manage to play through the lag, then there's always the chance of an out of sync error occurring and 50 minutes of gameplay being lost. Just today I experienced an out of sync twice when I was engaging in a massive 3 vs. 3 or 4 vs. 4 battle in the Imperial Age.