This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

My friend wants to build a PC with a budget of 800 GBP

#1VarandilPosted 8/4/2013 2:02:24 AM
http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/1o3AP

That's what I've put together but I'm no real expert... can anyone suggest improvements?
---
XBL + Origin: Varandil
Currently playing: FM2013, Crusader Kings 2, Rising Storm
#2SlaynPosted 8/4/2013 2:06:10 AM
I don't really feel like searching for all the parts myself, but a few notes:

1. The cpu doesn't overclock unless it's a K model. Just letting you know. If you don't care, or the K is just too much more, don't worry.

2. Using 2x4gb is better than 1x8gb.

3. The video card is a little underpowered.

4. The PSU could also be underpowered.

Really the only thing you should definetely change is the memory. The others are up to you. Also consider finding a cheap used monitor, if you have local ads like Craigslist.
---
#1 LoL Poster NA: http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/954437-league-of-legends/63627116
#3Varandil(Topic Creator)Posted 8/4/2013 2:23:23 AM
Thanks for the help.

Overclocking won't be required at all, so that's not a concern

Didn't know that about the RAM, will change it

I stuck with that video card because he really only wants the PC for the usual MS office stuff, a few games that are more processor intensive than graphics intensive like the Football Manager games and maybe a few other games, but nothing spectacular

According to the site, the estimated wattage is 238W, so I figured a 380W PSU would be more than sufficient. Is that wrong?
---
#4greenyoshi46Posted 8/4/2013 2:38:30 AM
Varandil posted...
Thanks for the help.

I stuck with that video card because he really only wants the PC for the usual MS office stuff, a few games that are more processor intensive than graphics intensive like the Football Manager games and maybe a few other games, but nothing spectacular