This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Amount of $ to spend on a laptop to make The Sims 3 run maxed out?

#1AlexTheNextOnePosted 8/5/2013 9:58:43 AM
To be clear, this is not a computer for myself, this would be for my girlfriend, who doesn't play PC games unless it's The Sims. To each their own.

She wanted to know around how much someone would have to spend on a new laptop (not a Mac, thank you Baby Jesus) in order to have The Sims 3 run on maxed settings, without choppiness.

I'm not an expert in the least when it comes to hardware, so I guessed it would cost someone around $500-600 to be able to run a game like that, but I'm not entirely sure.

It would also need to be a laptop, not desktop, she would need that portability in the future, for classes.
---
Read everything, listen to everybody, believe nothing, until you can prove it through your own research. For that is the true mark of intelligence.
#2dennis941012Posted 8/5/2013 10:05:01 AM
Mac GET REFURBISHED MAC BOOK AIR
It is lite, designed well, os is much more user friendly, battery life is much longer, screen quality is better, etc...

laptop/tablet = go for apple :X

inb4payingforbrandname
---
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzwNvWsbJKQ
#3AlexTheNextOne(Topic Creator)Posted 8/5/2013 10:14:11 AM
I said we were not in the market for a Mac, and I would never tell her to get a Macbook Air, refurbished or not. She needs an optical drive, plain and simple.
---
Read everything, listen to everybody, believe nothing, until you can prove it through your own research. For that is the true mark of intelligence.
#4TropicMoon10Posted 8/5/2013 10:17:48 AM
$600 is overkill. A $400-$500 laptop will be fine.

I'm not at home right now so I can't help you look for anything in particular, but it really doesn't take that much to run The Sims 3 decently.
---
-TropicMoon - as humid as a summer's day on triton
http://i.imgur.com/N9lTE.jpg
#5Binba442Posted 8/5/2013 11:15:33 AM(edited)