This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Want to upgrade my Prebuilt a little further, done GPU+PSU. Cpu+mobo questions.

#1ForTheHorde117Posted 8/15/2013 6:49:15 PM
Hi guys, I have been working on my prebuilt HP pc for a few months now. For reference I am trying to be able to play Planetside 2 on all ultra settings with Physx enabled.

System: i5 3470 CPU 3.2 gHz (3.6 turbo) / 12GB DDR3 RAM / GTX 760 / 630w PSU / IPMMB-FM Formosa mobo / Windows 8 64bit

I upgraded from my terrible stock video card (GT 520) to a GTX 650 and this allowed me to play on high settings with no issues. Never crashed, got decent FPS around 40 at idle 30 in a big battle. Now recently I replaced my power supply to a 630 watt and installed a GTX 760.

I can now run the game with a solid 40fps in any situation, and cranked the graphics all the way, but after about 15minutes of playing the game totally disappears and CTD very quickly with no error. Does anyone know what could be causing this? I know the game is very CPU hungry, could that be it?

If I did decide to upgrade CPU which I think is the next step I should take, I have a bit of an issue. The FORMOSA mobo has no BIOS which supports overclocking, and that seems to kinda kill any
reason of upgrading CPU for a small boost in power. I am not totally comfortable swapping a
motherboard, can anyone convince me that it is not that hard?

So last question is with my current system, what would be the best CPU/Mobo combo to buy for a not too astronomical price? Or other course of action that will put me in the "Decent gaming PC" range instead of "Half decent"

Thanks in advance
---
Miyamoto or Kojima? Aren't those video game girls from Dead or Alive?-sexydude16
#2Lonestar2000Posted 8/15/2013 6:50:57 PM
I doubt it is the CPU. Isn't the game buggy?
---
Rumble Roses. Someone enters the room.
Them: O_O Me: What?! I always play games without my pants on!- Inmate 922335
#3GreenMage7Posted 8/15/2013 6:55:25 PM(edited)