This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Any artists here? Tablet/Drawing Program shopping

#1DisastersaurusPosted 8/16/2013 7:41:58 PM
TLDR: I'm an aspiring writer who's learning to draw so I can start doing comics and such to build a portfolio. As a result, I'm looking into wacom tablets and programs, but there's a lot of options.

I'm looking for a tablet in the $200-$400 range if that's realistic that I could use to draw with, and a program that I could draw on. I'd appreciate any recommendations.

If it matters, I'm going to be trying to learn a fairly 'comic'-oriented, style, along the lines of what you might see in Marvel or DC.
---
Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Enthusiast of Gamefaqs! Add me on steam for a training partner or teacher! http://steamcommunity.com/id/Durrzerker/
#2THEskeksisPosted 8/16/2013 10:39:55 PM
we went with Wacom for drawing pads. works VERY well. ours came with a set of different tips for the pen that all have different effects. we have the adobe suite, but i know you can pay a monthly fee and get a cloud version of all of the adobe programs. so pretty much renting out the software since it can be really pricey.

but whatever program you use, i would strongly suggest going with a Wacom product. i am into illustration, and i was surprised (in a good way) how well it worked compared to a ink pen/marker/paint brush.
---
I used to be addicted to soap, but I'm clean now...
#3BlindtoDreamPosted 8/16/2013 10:54:26 PM
My suggestion would be something like this...

http://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Intuos5-Touch-Tablet-PTH450/dp/B0076HMDQO/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1376718411&sr=8-6&keywords=wacom+tablet

I have a bamboo tablet and it is fantastic, but if you get a bambo, be ready to buy a stock of nibs or make your own with weed eater line (what I started doing). I have spoken with many artists over time who have the Intuos and love them. They have programmable buttons for things like unto, rotate, and all of that.