This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Looking to get a new computer (PC or Laptop), but need opinions.

#1Fabled_GamerPosted 8/26/2013 7:37:01 PM
I'm a gamer and a student, and my current desktop is about 8 years old but still chugging along (albeit some major slowdowns) and I have a slightly newer laptop (HP Touchsmart model) that is a resource hog, with a CPU that overheats quite frequently.

I'm looking to finally get a new computer in the "Not-completely-top-of-the-line-expensive-but-also-not-cheap" range. However, I'm torn. I could use a new laptop for school, but I know that a desktop tends to be cheaper, and usually more powerful.

If I went the desktop route, I see myself in the future, getting a cheap netbook or something for school which together may total the price I could spend on a single laptop that does everything.

Also in terms of laptops, I prefer larger screen sizes, and with the graphical capability of say, playing Skyrim on max settings (with mods), and a backlit keyboard is a plus, too. However, I'm not too familiar with the laptop gaming market, so I wouldn't know the difference in some models.

Can anyone offer any opinions on to whether I should get a new laptop, or desktop? And if anyone knows a decent priced laptop that may fit my needs? Thanks!
---
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/wild.wild.west42
XBL GT: WildWildWest42
#2YoungAdultLinkPosted 8/26/2013 7:42:25 PM
A desktop of $500-600 can handle Skyrim at medium-high with framerate over 30.

A laptop at $1000 can handle Skyrim at medium with a framerate over 30.

I built my system for $510 and reused my old windows key and hard drive. This was a year ago. Since then, my graphics card has dropped $50, which covers a hard drive or an upgrade from an i3 to an i5.

Really, just go for a desktop now and, in 6 months or so, grab yourself a $400, 15 inch laptop for taking notes and such on.
---