This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Need serious help removing Linux Mint from my laptop

#1SHAOLINSLUMLORDPosted 8/28/2013 10:20:25 AM
I put Linux on my laptop because I have never tried it before, and wanted to see what it was like. Now, I would like to switch back to Windows 7, because a few programs I use aren't friendly with Linux.

Problem is I can't figure out how to wipe my laptops drive, and I have exhausted all Google searches.

Thanks for your time
---
I have nothing left to give, and nothing left to take away.
#2Ch3wyPosted 8/28/2013 10:23:12 AM
Make sure you don't wipe the bootloader like I did.

Did you install it on a separate partition than windows or did you get rid of WIndows completely when you installed it?
---
Every time you point out that something is an opinion Jesus shoots a kitten in the face.
#3SHAOLINSLUMLORD(Topic Creator)Posted 8/28/2013 10:25:48 AM
Removed windows completely, and I don't know what a bootloader is
---
#4Ch3wyPosted 8/28/2013 10:29:34 AM
OK well you should be able to just boot up with a windows install disk then and install Windows over it through that.
---
Every time you point out that something is an opinion Jesus shoots a kitten in the face.
#5SlaynPosted 8/28/2013 10:46:24 AM
Ch3wy posted...
OK well you should be able to just boot up with a windows install disk then and install Windows over it through that.

---
#1 LoL Poster NA: http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/954437-league-of-legends/63627116
#6New LinkPosted 8/28/2013 1:43:12 PM(edited)
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda

^^ that will wipe out everything.

Honestly though if you're new to the linux-world you should really start with dual-booting both operating systems until you figure out how to get everything done on linux.
---
-SNES- Hasta Pasta!
Sieh nur wie ich laufen kann... Mich fängst du nicht, ich bin der Lebkuchenmann!
#7SHAOLINSLUMLORD(Topic Creator)Posted 8/28/2013 4:45:52 PM