This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Outlast DOESN'T depend on jump scares

#1pothocketPosted 9/10/2013 9:02:51 AM
To me, this is the most annoying criticism of the game because it's a poorly formed opinion made by those who watched 10 minutes of the game on Youtube.

I beat the game yesterday and I can confirm that the rare jump scares Outlast does have are paced out pretty well during the campaign and obviously isn't what the game is depending on for the horror. More often than not, when I jumped it was because my life actually was in serious danger or sometimes even scaring myself over nothing. The jump scares that are in the game are pretty minor and the haters are making a much bigger deal over them than the game does.

It is possible for a game to have jump scares and not rely on them. If you're a fan of horror - don't read reviews, don't watch Youtube clips - just get this game.
---
well I am not like your dad. I worked as a chef at TGIF-Mattson
#2Defeat__UnknownPosted 9/10/2013 9:12:16 AM
When it comes to Horror games, reading reviews and watching videos can spoil the game. Horror games are generally only fun to play once because the scares aren't likely to be scary the second time around, or if you know they're coming due to reading reviews or watching videos. For both of these games, I read only the summarized comments. I want only to know if the reviewer enjoyed the game. The atmosphere, mechanics, story and such are for me to find out on my own.
---
http://s5.postimg.org/nlyanunjr/Yolandi_Visser.jpg
#3Fade2black001Posted 9/10/2013 9:13:21 AM
Horror games or movies nowadays have no scare factor in them. Its such a shame.
---
We're Americans! We don't quit just because we're wrong.
We just keep doing the wrong thing until it turns out right.
#4BIGGESTPS3FANPosted 9/10/2013 9:15:29 AM
Fade2black001 posted...