This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Someone in a topic just said PC gaming will be dominant this gen...

#1JohnnyKoochPosted 9/10/2013 5:58:21 PM
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE PC gaming and the PC in general.

Not to sound like the "master race" type of PC fanatic, but I personally believe it is the best choice versus gaming consoles.

However, even though the capabilities / possibilities of PC gaming far out-reach any console, I think the PC market will forever be haunted by pirates / piracy.

If I was an actual game dev aside from the stupid un-finished RPG maker games I do, I would have a tendency to stay away from PC altogether. Especially if I was making a game with all the beef going into single-player.

Pirating a game on PC is an extremely easy thing to do, and while piracy exists on consoles, it tends to be more complicated to get started and repels people who have no idea what to do or don't want to take the risk, adding up to less pirates roaming console downloads.

Piracy won't really die until we are either super-monitored by 1000's of internet police, or until every game we play is an online-only, Free-to-Play, Pay-to-win, Pay-to-Look-Cool type of game.

I think this will always shorten interest in the PC market, and increase interest in console markets.

Am I crazy?
#2TimePharaohPosted 9/10/2013 6:00:53 PM
TV/Movies=FINISHED
---
"HE are genius, firstly." - ASlaveObeys
http://i.imgur.com/SQAc17B.png
#3DV8ingSourcesPosted 9/10/2013 6:02:45 PM
Yes you are.

Piracy is easy yes but consumers consume regardless. I pay for all my games these days because I respect the industry that has given me so much entertainment for reasonably prices.

PC versions also provide a bigger piece of the pie to developers and from what I have gathered, sell as much if not more than any single console out right now.