This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Counter Strike: GO using 100Mb per hour?

#1Shark_LaserPosted 9/24/2013 10:34:44 AM
I recently got (sort of) high speed internet for the first time. I'm using a Verizon MiFi hotspot that gets roughly 4Mbps and I have a 5Gb monthly bandwidth cap.

I started playing CS:GO a few weeks ago, and I've noticed my data usage has shot up. To narrow it down, I installed a bandwidth monitor. Yesterday, my computer was on from midnight until 5pm sitting idle. It used 30Mb of data during that time. Around 5pm, I started playing CS:GO and from 5pm - 8pm my computer used 350Mb of data.

Is it normal for games to use that much data? It makes it pretty much impossible for me to play CS:GO. Since this is my first time having internet sufficient to play online, I've been playing a lot. 50 hours of CS:GO will eat up my entire month's bandwidth, and that's not even counting regular browsing/etc.

Maybe it's because I'm using the voice chat on CS:GO, as well? Any ideas?
---
Look at yourself in the mirror, and tell me what a man is without pride. Tell me what a man is without fire in his eyes. Tell me who the f*** you are.
#2WerdnAndreWPosted 9/24/2013 10:39:25 AM
If you server jump a lot then you could be downloading a bunch of custom sounds and maps.
---
Corsair 500r ~ P8Z68-V Pro ~ i5 2500k ~ Hyper 212+ ~ Corsair 2x4gb ~ TX750w v2 ~ 560 Ti ~ F3 1TB ~ Crucial M4 128GB ~ Xonar DG ~ Tt Meka G1 ~ Asus PA248Q
#3Shark_Laser(Topic Creator)Posted 9/24/2013 10:40:55 AM
I only play Classic Competitive, so I wouldn't be downloading anything, right? I thought you only downloaded with custom maps.
---
Look at yourself in the mirror, and tell me what a man is without pride. Tell me what a man is without fire in his eyes. Tell me who the f*** you are.
#4DarkZV2BetaPosted 9/24/2013 10:42:22 AM
...27kbps? Sounds about right.
---
Want that Shield!
Ball and Cup on ps mobile has framerate issues. -stargazer64