This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

How will GTA5's dual loading effect the PC version?

#1pothocketPosted 10/8/2013 9:47:43 AM
In case anyone is unaware, GTA5 on the consoles does this thing where it stream loads simultaneously from both the disk drive and hard drive to overcome the memory limitations. The result is graphics that seem impossible when compared to what has been done before on current gen.

I know PCs will have a lot more memory to work with but players will also want higher texture resolutions at a farther draw distance. So how fast can a typical medium range gaming PC read the average harddrive compared to how fast the 360 can read its drive? Could it steam load everything (accounting for better textures) faster than a 360 can stream off its drive and disk at once? Will GTA5 require a Solid State Drive to run smoothly?
---
well I am not like your dad. I worked as a chef at TGIF-Mattson
#2wizardmonPosted 10/8/2013 9:49:36 AM
RAM, swap space, SSD, diskdrive. There's more ways for the game to load at once on a PC, so the only way it can effect it is positively.
---
I think I'm the only person on gamefaqs with a daughterboard - ToastyOne
New with a moderation history more plentiful than karma. - Fossil (Moderator)
#3MonkeymagePosted 10/8/2013 9:51:23 AM
PCs have a revolutionary thing called RAM, which comes in sizes larger than 512MB.
---
7.3 GHz Intel i9 7770k "Hollow Tree" / 64GB TDR4 RAM / GTX Titan 5 GK330 "Daghlian" Chipset, Dodeca-SLI
#4WyzeGyePosted 10/8/2013 9:51:58 AM
Looks like I'm gonna have to get 64gb ram to ramdisk it.... I wouldn't want to be handicapped by not having a console with smooth loading
---
http://i.imgur.com/2dhh8tn.gif | http://i.imgur.com/p5EXSiq.jpg
http://i.crackedcdn.com/phpimages/article/2/2/7/201227_v1.gif
#5Tony_Biggie_PunPosted 10/8/2013 10:02:13 AM