This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Stronghold Crusader HD or Extreme HD Edition?

#1iPr0kkaFTWPosted 10/30/2013 11:06:43 AM
I have zero knowledge of this gem I've stumbled upon on Steam as it is on sale right now. I looked up videos on YouTube of gameplay and it looks amazing. I'm debating whether I should get the original Stronghold Crusader (then patch to HD) or get the Extreme HD Edition. Is the Extreme Edition worth the 10,000 population cap?
#2KillerTrufflePosted 10/30/2013 11:16:19 AM
Honestly, I found the original Stronghold much better than Crusader - I'd recommend Stronghold HD rather than either of the Crusader editions.
---
"How do I get rid of a Trojan Horse?" -Sailor_Kakashi
"Leave it outside the gates of Troy overnight." -Davel23
#3Knight2520Posted 10/30/2013 11:26:32 AM
My box copy of SCE came with the regular Stronghold Crusader on the DVD as well, so there's that to potentially consider. SCE has no campaigns like the original SC, and it has a different crusader trail (can't recall what the exact name is) that's significantly harder.

If you just want to play skirmishes against the AI, go for SCE. That 10,000 unit cap is so much fun. If you want the original crusader trail and some military and economic campaigns built in from the get-go, get SC.
---
If AMD goes down Intel might safely release i9 for $300 and i7 for $200 and i5 for $100 and i3 for free. - su27Chaos<
#4iPr0kkaFTW(Topic Creator)Posted 10/30/2013 11:42:20 AM
Thanks for the responses. I'll get the Stronghold Crusader HD version on Steam. I'll also look into the original Stronghold as well!
#5Knight2520Posted 10/30/2013 12:23:10 PM
I'm not sure if it's included in the HD patch, or the version Steam has, but be aware that there is another free patch available for SC that adds several more AI opponents (Emperor Frederick, the Marshall from Stronghold, the Sheriff of Nottingham, and I think a monk).
---