This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Does anybody use a wireless switch/range extender? or know about them?

#1Jedthehead91Posted 10/31/2013 3:16:38 PM
my room is over 40 meters from our router so the signal is extremely weak and i want to be able to play on my 3DS and Vita online, (my pc and consoles are connected with a ethernet cable) i do get a signal but its extremely low and no device can get connected, do wireless switch/range extenders get the signal from the router/modem signal wirelessly or can wireless switches create a signal with a ethernet cable from the router so if i was sitting 5 meters from it the signal would be virtually 100%? i dont know much about wireless switches if it boosts the signal wirelessly it has to boost a signal strength of 5-10% from my room so im not sure if that is sufficient. Sorry for not making much sense in my question im not very tech savvy especially when it comes to networking. I hope someone will understand me.

Thanks in advance.
---
Noregs menn! dansio vel i stillum, stilli tykkum allar riddarar, Noregs menn! dansio vel i stillum
#2ChetyrePosted 10/31/2013 3:23:58 PM
I'm not sure I understand completely (learn2paragraph), but you can usually connect an extender by both wireless or wired methods. You'll need to be more specific...
---
"Beyond The Beaten Path Lies The Absolute End. It Matters Not Who You Are, Death Awaits You." Nyx Avatar
#3TreGoodaPosted 10/31/2013 3:54:44 PM
You can do it wirelessly with a repeater or another router you configure to be a repeater (will take some networking knowledge).
---
"Get a life! What? I'm a gamer, I have tons of lives."
#4Jedthehead91(Topic Creator)Posted 10/31/2013 4:58:09 PM
Sorry for not being clear, my room is 40 meters away from our router, 2 far for any wireless device. My consoles and PC are connected wired with a non wireless netgear switch so that itself is not an issue.