This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

need help. my pc won't boot after i installed my new graphics card.

#1mikehawk056Posted 12/4/2013 2:23:31 PM
I'm not really good at explaining but I'll try my best. and i apologize in advance for my English.

here is my pc: http://tiny.cc/0d4k7w

i bought a new graphics card which is a Gigabyte radeon r9 280x and a new power supply for my new video card which is a Corsair TX750.

GPU: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=8585460
PSU: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7195038

i installed the PSU then the GPU. i wasn't sure if i had to but i plugged both 8 and 6 psi-e pin to the video card. when i turned the pc on everything went on. all of my fans including the GPU one's was working. but nothing happened to my monitor. the computer didn't even boot. then i took it out, put back my old video card in. started my pc and everything went normal. i installed my new video card's driver that came with it. switched video card back to my new one, and same thing as before happened. i tried to plug my monitor to my motherboard video source and nothing came on the screen, even with my old card i couldn't use the motherboard's video source. only when i had no cards in then i would be able to. i then disabled my old card, and the new one didn't work. it did the same as before. i really don't know what to do. i can't test the card on a other pc because my other one doesn't have a psi-e slot.

PS: my monitor is a hp w1907. http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/ca/en/ho/WF28a/12142134-12142242-12142244-12142244-12142244-79804086-79804139.html?dnr=2
---
"I don't worship Satan, I just think Satan is really awesome."
#2mikehawk056(Topic Creator)Posted 12/5/2013 4:03:40 PM
anyone?
---
#3kelemvorPosted 12/5/2013 7:40:11 PM
Even without the drivers loaded, the computer should still boot up with your new graphics card and display *something*.