This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Building a new PC, advice on CrossFire?

#1RingsOfUranusPosted 12/16/2013 5:47:06 PM
I've never done CrossFire before, I'm building a new PC (House got struck by lightning, blew up electronics, insurance check a' comin', etc) and so far I've got an AMD 8350 and an ASUS m5A99FX pro mobo, now I'm looking at video cards and figured, why not, let's try CrossFire. No idea how to go about doing this though. Any suggestions regarding things I should know and recommended cards? I'm thinking two 7970s or 7950s, but not really decided on anything. I'd like to stay around $500-$600 total on the cards if possible. If that's not possible, I'll just go more all-out on one card. Halp?
---
Official Gengar of the Pokemon X board
"I'm excited to see what don't has for the ps4" -HomieKnockout
#2RingsOfUranus(Topic Creator)Posted 12/16/2013 5:57:37 PM
Now I'm lookin' at this guy, never heard of the R series before. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202047 How do these compare to the 6000, 7000 and 8000 series Radeon cards?
---
#3Flaktrooper123Posted 12/16/2013 6:06:58 PM
If you want R9 280x, you might have wished to have bought it a month ago. No thanks to bitcoin miners. They used to cost around $300 but it is now $400. R9 280X is the same thing as 7970 GHz edition, it is just a rebrand. Unless you are interested in bitcoin mining yourself, GTX 770 is now cheaper, it used to be more expensive than R9 280X.

If you don't want to crossfire now, you can up one level, you can get R9 290 for around $500, R9 290X for about $550-600 (dang bitcoin miners), or GTX 780 for $500-600.
#4ShubPosted 12/16/2013 6:11:11 PM
Forget about 6000 and 8000 series cards.
6000 series are old and no one should be buying one.
8000 series never made it to the world of desktops.