This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

I want to make sure I'm on the right track on my PC build - whats the next step?

#1SpringerPosted 12/20/2013 4:56:29 AM
Okay,

If some of you have read my other threads, I am a complete noob and I did some serious cosmetic damage to my case. Nobody has said anything about that cosmetic damage causing any performance issues.

So with that being said, I am going to need some serious babysitting moving forward into this build, seen here: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2atDx

Here is how far I have gotten and here are my questions on that:

I have the CPU in the motherboard - no questions on that

I have the CPU cooler on - it slides. Is this normal? I have been grabbing the motherboard by the CPU cooler and while it is definitely secure in its place with screws, I can wiggle the cooler back & forth ever so slightly. I'm hoping this is normal and has something to do with the thermal compound.

I inserted 2 sticks of RAM - there were 4 ram choices: grey, black, grey, black. Which colors was I suppose to choose? Why does it alternate in colors like that?
I chose the 3rd and 4th slots, grey and black, the slots furthest away from the CPU. Can someone please help me with that?

I have the MOBO in the case now - despite some hangups.

I put the GPU into the MOBO and case - It appears as if I have THREE options on where to put this on the MOBO - high, middle, or low. Why are there three choices? Does it matter which one I choose? I chose the one closest to the CPU, which I call the "high" one.

What are my next steps? What should I look out for?
---
**** taco bell
**** Matt Kenseth
#2teknic1200Posted 12/20/2013 5:20:29 AM(edited)
Springer posted...
Okay,

I inserted 2 sticks of RAM - there were 4 ram choices: grey, black, grey, black. Which colors was I suppose to choose? Why does it alternate in colors like that?