This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

STARBOUND is = early access done right

#11pothocketPosted 12/24/2013 6:44:43 AM(edited)
Pokenub posted...
KabtheMentat posted...
Aqua69696 posted...
I think it's good early access, but I would call it an Alpha before I'd call it a Beta.

Yeah, it's kinda goofy. A beta is a complete game that just needs the bugs worked out and some polish. An alpha is a game where there's still crap that needs to be added.

They're adding crap to Starbound every week, thus it's an alpha.

By that logic, most MMO's are alphas. Well done.

MMOs are complete games, they don't "NEED" crap added but they do anyways to keep the player base engaged. Alphas 'NEED" that crap before they can be called complete. It's not really a concept worth giving someone a hard time over.
---
well I am not like your dad. I worked as a chef at TGIF-Mattson
#12DaedalusExPosted 12/24/2013 6:53:18 AM
Early access is early access done wrong.
#13emidasPosted 12/24/2013 7:09:49 AM
I don't think you know how to do = statements...lol.
---
i5-2500k @ 4.6Ghz | Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB | 16GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance LP
http://i.imgur.com/3yaehOJ.gif http://i.imgur.com/pj1VJu4.jpg
#14SinfullyvannilaPosted 12/24/2013 7:23:11 AM(edited)
I disagree, if only because of the developers' priorities. They are too focused on balance and fluff features this early in the development, at the expense of important basic features that increase efficiency like being able to set spawn points. Balance, other than basic playability(which they kinda screwed the pooch on with this update) should not be an issue for them at all until stage 2. Honestly, I think it would be better to just give us a ridiculous amount of ore so that we can test all the features as quickly as possible.