This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Not sure if GFaqs is the right place for this question, but..

#1FroodjaklePosted 1/15/2014 4:42:42 PM
Hey guys. I'm an aspiring game programmer and designer, been teaching myself to learn coding over the past ~7 years or so. I've been working on a project over the last few weeks, and as inspired as I am to make a full-fledged game, I dread certain elements of it - particularly background graphic design and sound effect work. I'm capable of the former, though I don't particularly enjoy it, but I would have no idea how to go about making pleasant, authentic sound effects from scratch.

So my question is, does anybody know of any game development sites or forums where one could get in contact with others in the same field? I'd love to try and get a team together to work on this rather than going at it alone, but I have no idea where to start. Any help would be appreciated.
---
PSN: Froodjakle
Currently playing: Warframe, Tales of Xillia, Ni No Kuni, Rune Factory 4, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate,
#2Treason686Posted 1/15/2014 5:02:07 PM
So after you learn to teach yourself coding, you should start learning how to write code :P

To answer your question, I don't know of any specific sites, no. I imagine you'll be looking at using a specific game engine or API, so maybe you should linger around those forums.

The advice I received was not to jump in head first. Get some placeholder stuff, make a prototype, and put your prototype out there for people to play it.

Think about the problem you're having: There are graphic artists out there with the exact same problem. They want to make a game, or make art, or something like that, but they don't know a thing about actual development. Maybe stick the prototype on some forums where people make/learn about making game models? Perhaps the same thing with the audio.