This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

whats the best free place to learn coding / languages?

#1returnofbeansPosted 3/1/2014 1:48:59 PM
friend suggested this http://www.codecademy.com/

not sure if its the best place for me since i have never set my eyes on coding. also as far as i know,

the most i want to create in the long run is a small game thats a bit like resident evil 1 through 3 styles. nothing advance. open doors, pick up items, poisons over time as my first game.
i tried using rpg maker but its not even close to what i had in mind.
---
Intel i5-4750 3.2Ghz / 2X 4GB G. Skill Ripjaw 1333 / 2 TB HDD / Geforce GTX 580 / 500W 80+ bronze
#2Greendragon854Posted 3/1/2014 2:05:52 PM
I completed a couple lessons in codeacadamy, and it does an OK job. I'm a complete newbie with coding as well. There were some times where having someone actually show me (or a video demonstrating why I was doing what I was doing) would have been intensely helpful and would have saved me a half hour here and there. But it kind of broke that wall of fear for beginning to code.

I'm still looking for something good as well though.
---
"Are you going to buy this time? Or are you still just curious?"
"Well, I supposed you could say I'm Buy-Curious" ~PSN - greeniebeanie
#3cancerstormPosted 3/1/2014 2:44:40 PM
returnofbeans posted...

not sure if its the best place for me since i have never set my eyes on coding. also as far as i know,

the most i want to create in the long run is a small game thats a bit like resident evil 1 through 3 styles. nothing advance. open doors, pick up items, poisons over time as my first game.

it'll be easier for you to use rpg maker or something similar than learning how to code from scratch for what you want to do
---
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/2996/cancerstorm.jpg
#4LoshadtPosted 3/1/2014 2:57:50 PM
cancerstorm posted...