This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Rate this build. $700 budget.

#1Bmvc1Posted 3/6/2014 6:04:04 PM(edited)
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/34qgr

I'm about to start buying this build, but I'm no expert so let me know if there are any issues. My budget is $700. I feel really good about it, I really wanted a blue&black motherboard, but the only ones available are MSI and the reviews are not great so I went with the Gigabyte one which people seem to really like.
#2-5xad0w-Posted 3/6/2014 6:09:57 PM
Not bad.

I'd probably have gotten a ~$50 mid tower (Rosewill Challenger is serviceable budget case) and put the difference towards a Caviar Black.
---
"This is a cool way to die!" -Philip J. Fry
KCO222OB|1440 Watts|6 Slice|Timer|Crumb Tray|Is a Toaster Oven
#3PhilOnDezPosted 3/6/2014 6:33:53 PM
Pretty close to what I've recommended several times today actually. Just be aware that if you're the type to do mail-in rebates that microcenter has a 660 for $150 after MIR, and that's not an in-store pickup deal. If you don't do rebates (I know I don't) then it's basically what I'd say to get.
---
Every time I try to go where I really wanna be it's already where I am, 'cuz I'm already there
XBL, PSN, Steam, Origin, BSN, GFAQs, MC: PhilOnDez
#4aak57Posted 3/6/2014 6:37:35 PM
Just an FYI that it's going to be more expensive if you don't actually live near a microcenter since the price is only valid in-store. And if you're actually near a microcenter, it'd make more sense to go for a 4670K + motherboard from them since you get a discount so it'd end up basically the same price.
---
http://i.imgur.com/ULj4q.jpg
Let strength be granted, so the world might be mended.
#5PhilOnDezPosted 3/6/2014 6:39:53 PM
What's more expensive? The 660 deal is $180 with free shipping with a $30 MIR. If he lives near a MC though I'd definitely go with a 4670k since it'd end up around the same price.
---