This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Thinking about committing my tax return on a Surface Pro 2. Thoughts?

• Topic Archived
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. Thinking about committing my tax return on a Surface Pro 2. Thoughts?
2 years ago#1
The 256GB model for the 8 GB of RAM.

My laptop, though it was pretty nice when I bought it in 2008, is showing its age. I'm on the road all the time now due to school and lugging my laptop around is a pain. I game on it semi-regularly - primarily Civ V, SC2, TF2 and Diablo III, which all run moderately well.

I'd build my own rig, but a desktop isn't what I need at the moment.

I'd be lying if I said I wasn't lusting after a SP2. I'm no hardware expert but it seems pretty powerful for a tablet/laptop hybrid. Gets nearly unanimous positive reviews, too. Expandable storage (microSD though, meh), USB 3.0 (only one though, meh), and no bundled Type Cover 2 or Office. I do froth at the mouth at the idea of playing Civ V with a touch screen, though...

I'm not terribly familiar with the tablet market, however, so I ask: any other tablet/laptop hybrids you guys would recommend? Any good/bad things to say about the SP2?

tl;dr - SP2 worth it for a student?
And now presenting your St. Louis Cardinals! 11 in '11
GT: APanasonicYouth /// Playing: Dark Souls (X360)
2 years ago#2
I went with a nexus 7. The surface pro 2 is relatively expensive & it's overkill for my type of usage.

I do not tend to games outside of desktop usage.
Sabertooth X79|Core i7 3930K @4.3GHz|Zalman CNPS12X|Kingston HyperX 8X4GB CL9|VisionTek HD7970 3GB|11TB storage|x-fi titanium hd|Silent Pro M1000W|Corsair 800D
2 years ago#3
The Surface Pro 2 is a nice device, so long as your primary use for it isn't gaming. It will handle some games decently but it certainly isn't designed for it.
2 years ago#4